If you have been in an accident caused by a drunk driver
You may be wondering what kind of punishment the person will face. They may have caused irreparable damage to you, your vehicle, and others in the car. The driver may have even been convicted of drunk driving in the past, but got their license back in the meantime. Irresponsible drivers like this should face justice, which is why there are plenty of punishments in place for DUIs in Alaska.
The penalties for drunk drivers in Alaska vary, depending on whether or not it’s the person’s first offense if the accident impacted others, and how long ago their previous conviction occurred, if they have one.
Someone’s first DUI offense in Alaska, without an accident involved, is considered a Class A Misdemeanor. Below are the penalties involved.
- Minimum $1,500 fine
- Mandatory minimum 72 hour imprisonment
- 90-day suspension of driver’s license
- Mandatory drug and/or alcohol evaluation, and possible attendance at a drug/alcohol treatment program
- Potential ban on purchasing alcohol for a certain period of time
A second DUI offense or conviction is also a Class A Misdemeanor, and the charges are similar. The difference is that the minimum fine is $3,000, mandatory 20-day imprisonment, and a year-long drives license revocation. If someone continues to get DUI offenses and convictions, the fines, prison time, and length of suspension of their driver’s license all increase.
Unfortunately, some citizens in the United States have a serious drinking problem and are caught drunk driving numerous times. If someone has been convicted of drunk driving 5 or more times with 15 years, they face:
- A prison sentence of at least a year
- A minimum fine of $7,000
- A driver’s license revocation for at least 5 years
In more extreme cases, a person may be convicted of drunk driving 3 times within 10 years. If this is the case, the repercussions are more severe. The minimum fine is $10,000 and their driver’s license is permanently revoked.
These punishments are solely for being caught drunk driving, not getting into an accident because of it. It’s disheartening to think that just because the drunk driver hasn’t hurt anyone yet, they’re able to get behind the wheel a few months later. Unfortunately, the drunk driver has to get into an accident before they face criminal charges.
If an accident occurs due to someone driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, they will be charged with a felony instead of a misdemeanor. They can expect criminal charges, significant fines, potential jail time, and even a civil suit if serious injuries resulted from the accident.
The DUI case will most likely be brought to criminal court, where the driver would be charged with assault by auto. This is a third-degree felony that can result in a 3 to 5 year prison sentence.
While these punishments vary by state, one thing is for sure: they’re much more significant when a DUI accident involves a car wreck.
If you, family members, or loved ones have been impacted by a DUI accident, you have every right to receive compensation. From the damage of property to medical bills, there are so many repercussions after one has been victimized in this way. You don’t need to bear the financial burden of an accident that was not your fault. We’ve handled cases like yours many times before, so feel free to reach out for a free case evaluation.