A new report backs up Alaska’s well-earned reputation for having some of the harshest penalties in the country for drunk or drugged drivers. In the report, the Last Frontier State is said to have the nation’s 3rd strictest laws for driving under the influence (DUI).
In this issue, we’ll talk more about the report, and other key findings in it.
Who conducted the report and what did they look at?
WalletHub, a financial advice site, carried out the report by looking at a combination of 15 different metrics, including minimum jail time, minimum fines, average insurance rate increase after an offense and whether or not ignition interlock systems are required after a DUI conviction.
Current Alaska law calls for a 3-day minimum jail time for 1st conviction; 20 days for 2nd conviction.
Which states ranked tougher than Alaska on DUI law?
The complete Top 10 rankings for the toughest states on DUIs are:
- West Virginia
South Dakota was listed as having the most lenient DUI laws in the country.
Other Key Findings From WalletHub’s Study
There were a host of other interesting findings in the study from WalletHub.
- The average fine nationwide for a first DUI ($352) is higher than what you would pay an Uber driver to take you from Washington, DC to Philadelphia ($217).
- 88% of states nationwide force offender to install ignition interlock devices in their vehicles after being arrested for DUI.
- Repeat offenders remain in jail nearly three weeks longer than first-time offenders.
If you’ve been injured by an impaired driver, call Barber & Associates
Our roads are dangerous enough without drivers who have been drinking or taking prescription or illegal drugs. If you’ve been hurt by an impaired driver, we want to talk with you about your legal options.
Get in touch with us here at Barber & Associates.
The first meeting is always free, so call us at 907-276-5858 or send an email.